The Bailey Inn
The Bailey Inn stood on Main Street, nearly opposite the First Church of Christ, Scientist. (Its site was, until recently, a vacant lot -- part of the yard and gardens of 293 Main Street,the yellow, Italianate house. In 2006, a yellow garage/barn was erected on the site.) From the turn of the 20th Century to the 1920s, this was a popular destination for visitors, many of whom would arrive here on the train that climbed up from Branchville to what is now the Ridgefield Supply Company in the center of town (the old station still stands as one of the storage buildings). The inn was razed around 1923, though the rear wing or ell is now the rear wing of the large house just to the south (267 Main Street), the former King homestead at the corner of Main Street and King Lane.
Back to the index