Four elegant Victorian houses from the 1890s are shown in
this LithoChrome card, printed in Germany around 1907. The house at left, once
part of the Misses Vinton School for Girls and later the long-time home of State Police
Troop A, has been the Ridgefield Police headquarters since around 1977
Most of the fields shown here, including some orchards,
belonged to former Connecticut Governor Phineas C. Lounsbury, who lived up the
hill (to the right, foreground) in what is now the Ridgefield Community Center. Today, these are
town-owned athletic fields.
The road shown in the foreground is now Governor Street. East Ridge Road
runs from left to right a bit in front of the houses. The old Ridgefield High
School, originally an elementary school built in 1913, would have been just to
the left of this view; the building is now the Richard E. Venus Municipal
Building, housing various community offices. To the
right, today, is East Ridge Middle School, built in 1966.