The Lynch Estate

The home of Mr. and Mrs. John Hampton Lynch was built soon after the turn of the 20th Century at one of the most scenic locations in Ridgefield, atop the southwestern side of West Mountain, nearly 1,000 feet above sea level. From behind the house (the other side from this view), the family could look out over  vast areas of northern Westchester County, N.Y., all the way to the Hudson River and beyond, some 20 miles away.

Here's a sample of the view from the back yard around 1910, showing Lewisboro, N.Y.'s lakes Rippowam and Waccabuc in the distance:

In 1962, the house was sold to the Congregation of Notre Dame, an order of teaching nuns, who established there the headquarters of the congregation in the United States, as well as a home for retired members of the order.

From about 1968 to 1972, the congregation operated a Catholic prep school for girls on the site, but lack of enrollments forced its closing. In 1999, the Landmark Academy acquired the school building and, now renamed Ridgefield Academy, operates a private grade school there.

Members of the Lynch family -- as well as people who worked for them during much of the 20th Century -- still live in Ridgefield.

Back to the postcard index

Scans and enlarged reproductions of all our postcards are available. See the Index Page.