Founded in 1907, the Ridgefield School for Boys stood on east side of the south end of Main Street, at the site of what is now house #8.
Here, the sons of wealthy families from the region were educated by Dr. Roland J. Mulford and his staff in a college-preparatory program. Dr. Mulford was an Episcopal clergyman and his school was considered strict, even for those times. The boys were allowed "downtown" only occasionally.
During the summer, the building turned into The Ridgefield Inn, a popular spot for visitors who often arrived by train at the depot on Prospect Street.
Here's another view of The Ridgefield Inn, looking northeasterly from the sidewalk on lower Main Street.
Eventually, the location proved too constricting for the school, and it was moved to a 115-acre campus on North Salem Road, just north of Lake Mamanasco, in 1911.
The Ridgefield Inn continued to operate for some years, but the building was torn down around 1920.
However, the carriage house for the inn and school still exists on the backland, and is now a private home.
Here's a view of the inn and school from Main Street looking north.
Scans and enlarged reproductions of all our postcards are available. See the Index Page.
Return to Index.